The Awesome Nature of a Folded Protein

Posted: 07/12/2011 in Introductions, Science Rocks, Worth Checking Out

At work I am able to listen to podcasts, music, sermons, audiobooks and lectures as I sit in a vault organizing massive amounts of information. The job itself appears to most as horrifically mundane and repetitive, but the time it affords me to listen makes it all worth it.

Yesterday I wanted to re-immerse myself into the world of Biochemistry. While, to some of you, that might sound as horrifically mundane as organizing files and blueprints, I love hearing about the amazing chemistry and biology of the cell. So I found a half-dozen lectures from iTunesU and spent the afternoon under a mound of architectural paperwork immersed in topics like DNApolymerase, prions and chaperone proteins.

There is something absolutely magnificent about the chemistry that takes place in our cells. I was trying to explain that to some friends at dinner last night, but found it difficult to conceptulize how amazing the process of even a protien folding correctly is. I left it at … its like going to a padlock that requires 1,000 different combinations to open, and doing it in a quarter of a second. It is that incredible.

PSA Announcement: If you don’t think Biochemistry is AMAZING, you don’t know enough about it.

While this video simplifies things, it is an incredible overview of how to get from DNA to Protein. Check it out :).

Comments
  1. Is it like an egg? Without a yolk?

  2. coffeenut79 says:

    I can completely understand your feelings as I am constantly remembering all I’ve learned from Organic Chemistry. People thought I was nuts to like that class. I loved it because of how amazing it proves that life does not come from nothing. It’s too complex to just come from a BANG!
    I’ll have to check out the whole thing about the folding protein. I’ve been out of the classroom for so long and would love to invigorate my mind again with such things. 😉

    • mgmstudious says:

      It’s sweet stuff. I pulled out my O-chem book the other day and was having fun remembering about nucleophiles and stereospecific reactions and good ol’ Markovnikov :). One of my favorite classes too.

  3. eliz says:

    Have u seen any videos the Discovery Institute in Seattle put out? There’s some good explanations in there, I remember from “Discovery Day” at Mars Hill several years ago. Interesting stuff.

Leave a Reply

