Running in the Sun – When the Leg Hasn’t Healed [17 Weeks]

Posted: 07/01/2011 in Running
Tags: , , ,

What to do when the leg hasn’t healed

Sigh… over the past month I have been dealing with a pulled gracilis or adductor magnus… hip adductor … inner thigh. Over this last week I have tried walk/running with not much luck at all.

So what do you do when the body just won’t cooperate?

1. REST & RECOVERY

While it doesn’t take a rocket scientist to realize that allowing your body to heal is a good idea, it is also the last thing many of us do. If you have remembered health class in High School or Middle School the classic RICE treatment formula has been slightly upgraded to PRICE:

  • Protection:If injured, stop playing and protect the injured part from further damage. Avoid putting weight on the injured part.
  • Rest: Rest is vital to protect the injured muscle, tendon, ligament or other tissue from further injury. Resting the injured part is important to promote effective healing.
  • Ice: When icing an injury, choose a cold pack, crushed ice or a bag of frozen peas wrapped in a thin towel to provide cold to the injured area. Never apply ice directly to the skin and never leave ice on an injury for more than 20 minutes.
  • Compression: Compression helps limit and reduce swelling, which may delay healing. Some people also experience pain relief from compression. An easy way to compress the area of the injury is to wrap an ACE bandage around the swollen part. If you feel throbbing, or if the wrap just feels too tight, remove the bandage and re-wrap the area so the bandage is a little looser.
  • Elevation: Elevating an injury help control swelling. It’s most effective when the injured area is raised above the level of the heart. For example, if you injure an ankle, try lying on your bed with your foot propped on one or two pillows.

2. LOW IMPACT RECOVERY

Every time I go back to running my body isn’t ready, but I need to continue conditioning my muscles. Becuase of this I am switching to biking and swimming for the next few weeks. Both will continue to strengthen my legs, but they will also allow for the particular strain from running to have time to heal. I also need to swallow my pride and be okay with running at a slower pace as I heal.

3. RE-ASSESS GOALS

Over the next few weeks I am going to have to determine if it is feasible to train for the Mt. Lemmon Marathon. There are a few other events in the fall that I might switch my focus to, in order to allow my body the appropriate time to recover.

Week 2* (17 Weeks to Go):

MON TUE WED THU FRI SAT SUN
Rest 3 mi Run 3 mi Run 3 mi Run Rest Cross 7 mi Run

*This plan is taken from halhigdon.com; if you need a site for training workouts, it’s where I turn.

Comments
  1. Has Shasta seen this post? Because I’m pretty sure she jacked her knee up in Sabino Canyon and hasn’t given it any of the proper attention!

    Lori is running the full Tucson Marathon, and trying to talk Joseph into doing it if that interests you. I’m probably doing the half then and the full for P.F. Chang’s 🙂 Shasta said she’d do the full with me, but not if she doesn’t LET HER KNEE HEAL!

    That’s right, Shasta! This comment might be on Mike’s blog, but it’s meant for you!

Leave a Reply

