… Moving over the Face of the Waters

Posted: 06/25/2011 in (Re)Tune, Introductions, Running the Race, Sermons/Bible Study Revelations, Worship, Worth Checking Out

I have needed to pull back all morning.

I have been working on a sermon for tonight, and I have gotten so wrapped up in the need for it to be excellent. I have been going through the desire for people to look upon me with favor, and my pride has been getting the best of me. I have been spending some time in prayer and worship and the following passage kept coming to mind:

And I, when I came to you, brothers, did not come proclaiming to you the testimony of God with lofty speech or wisdom. For I decided to know nothing among you except Jesus Christ and him crucified. And I was with you in weakness and in fear and much trembling, and my speech and my message were not in plausible words of wisdom, but in demonstration of the Spirit and of power, that your faith might not rest in the wisdom of men but in the power of God.

Paul to the Corinthians

In the power of God… I have been reminded again and again about the greatness of the God we serve. Even from the most unlikely of places. This morning I was listening to a song by “Moby”… umm yeah… okay I know that my struggle with this sermon might be divine retribution for having 90s techno-dance music AND still listening to it… but bear with me for a sec. There is a song that he wrote back in the early 1994 called “God Moving over the Face of the Waters”.

Take a listen. Really. Its worth it.

In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth. The earth was without form and void, and darkness was over the face of the deep. And the Spirit of God was hovering over the face of the waters.
And God said, “Let there be light,” and there was light.

We serve an awesome, powerful, glorious, amazing God… who is even able to use Moby to bring me into worship and a deeper relationship and love with Him.

Keeping that in mind I’m going to wrap up this sermon.

Leave a Reply

