An Intense Sacred Gamble

Posted: 06/03/2011 in Uncategorized

First of all technology is a strange thing, I am currently on the road, heading to Phoenix for a wedding and I’m trying to write this on my phone. That being said I will keep this rather brief.

For any of you who might be worrying for my safety, or the safety of the other people fighting highway traffic on this Friday afternoon… I am not driving; Adam is.

While it is unfamiliar, me “typing” this on a phone is not the intense gamble that I referred to. The intense, sacred “all-in” is about how I have been thinking about how I live my life.

“God hath given you one face, and you make yourselves another”

William Shakespeare; Hamlet: Act 3,  Scene 1

This week I have officially joined an adventure that could, and potentially should, require of me the rest of my life. While this might seem a daunting prospect, I am not worried about the scope, but what it’s being asked of me… to serve out of how God has made me.

This might sound strange, but you see over the past couple of years I have strived not to embrace and relish what I might have been made to excel in, but what I think might garner me the highest regard.

I am a simple man … I’m not an eloquent speaker or a brilliant strategist. I would love to go to my high school reunion and profess conquests and a magnificent resume…to put my life-blood and breath into economic notability or respectable titles. My gamble is to trust that God knows what He is doing and that I will find the greatest joy and satisfaction in that.

This is the simplest part of this. The gamble of being honest to myself and to others goes much deeper. I will write more on this later…especially when I have a keyboard to type on.

Comments
  1. Deb says:

    Looks like you’re back to blogging. Month off and now 5 new posts. Glad MI makes you smile and you have your new laundry friend.

  2. […] couple of days ago I wrote about risk, and what it looks like to find your hope and satisfaction and joy in the risk of not trying to be […]

Leave a Reply

