Isn’t this about Running?

Posted: 06/01/2011 in Running, Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

A friend of mine recently told me that she was reading what I posted to help know how to train for one of her first races. It made me excited that my writing might help spur on another runner, then I realized that I haven’t written about running in ages.

As some things go, the timing on this realization isn’t all that bad.

A couple of weeks ago I began training for a marathon on October 23. As most of my thoughts on running come from personal experience, the highs and lows of this 21 week of training should prove fertile ground.

Starting Again

The past couple of months I have run casually and without much of a schedule or plan. It has been a season of relaxing and ease, one that I have thoroughly enjoyed… that is until I have started running again.

Distances that were once easy, leave me sore and exhausted. Joints and muscles have returned to a complaining that I thought I had become immune to. I find I have to remind myself again and again that this will become easier, and that my endurance will return once again.

I don’t mean to wax philosophical, but the odd thing about being a “runner” is that it is an identity tied to an activity. It simply is a person that runs.

A person can just as easily stop being one as one can start.

So let me know if you need any advice or encouragement. Also if you want to follow along with training, or to join me for the marathon on 10/23, I’ll be posting the workouts online here as well.

This Week:

MON TUE WED THU FRI SAT SUN
3 m Run 4 m Run 7 x 400 3 m Run Rest 45 min 7 m Run
Comments
  1. shasta says:

    is this a dumb question…

    what is 7X400 mean?

    • mgmstudious says:

      Hey there Shasta, it isn’t a dumb question at all. This is an example of “interval training”… this workout is running 400 meters seven times. They are much shorter distances which let me work on speed. How/When to do them is a good thing to keep in mind… I think I’ll put a post up about them today 🙂

  2. […] Isn’t this about Running? Quick Thoughts […]

  3. Jordan says:

    Hey Mike! Too bad I didn’t see you this past weekend! It sounds like you got a lot done. It was a bummer that I could only stay a day in Tucson, was hoping to see you at Lauren’s b-day. I’m going to try to get back to Tucson later though, maybe even next week.

    It’s good to hear you’re running again, good luck and stay hydrated this summer! Glad to see you writing again, thought you disappeared! =)

Leave a Reply

