I have been tracking my running for the past couple of years and tonight I got the following announcement from my computer:

1,000 miles? Our hats off to you. Our shoes, too! Congratulations on this huge achievement.

It is strange to call it an achievement, because it never was a goal. You see, I run most often to train for a race or an event. And while running the distance from LA to Seattle is not one of them, I have to have a mission, a goal; I don’t know if I could do it any other way.

Two weeks ago, I finished up nearly 18 weeks of training with the PF Changs Marathon.

The crazy thing, after all of that work (nearly 600 miles of running), I have only run twice since then. I don’t have any motivation, or drive.  I can’t see the point of lacing up the shoes and embracing the cold, just for the fun of it.

Now after two weeks of sitting around on my duff, I decided to look at the next year and plan out some goals that I will have to work hard to achieve.

My first instinct was to play it safe, to have the goal of running 500 miles by the end of 2011. I know I could do it (I’m well on my way having run the marathon), but it will hardly inspire me to run with much vision. So, I created the following criteria:

  1. It must be completed by the end of 2011
  2. It must be something I have never done
  3. It must be something I am currently unable to do
  4. I have to get a shirt out the deal

Keeping these four things in mind I am, for accountability and for all the harassment you can muster, announcing my three goals for 2011:

  1. Run a 5k race with a time lower than 20:30
  2. To complete an Olympic Distance Triathlon
  3. To complete the Mt. Lemmon Marathon

I’m tempted not to post this, but now that this is out there, I have to once again lace up those shoes and continue training.


As a side note I want to give a shout out to my Sauconys. I beat the last pair into the pavement, and I now have another pair (thank you Big 5 for the awesome shoe sale) that will only look this good for another 3 or 4 days.

Comments
  1. I haven’t run at all since P.F. Chang’s.

    My goals for 2011: Buy a new pair of shoes that is appropriately sized, and use them. 🙂

    I’m not quite as ambitious as you are.

    • mgmstudious says:

      Wahoo for new shoes! It is actually a forced ambition, I have learned if I don’t have something grabbing my focus and attention, I don’t get anywhere.

  2. Hannah says:

    Kudos to you, little brother! I need to make a goal like that, except i know I have one already to do a 5k in the spring. I just pray that my knees will be in good enough shape for it.
    I love the shoe pictures…. It really shows how much work you put into those shoes! 🙂

  3. Cara says:

    1. Warrior Dash-Do it. All the cool kids are.
    2. You can totally run a 5k in under 20:30. Really fantastic place to train for times like that is the Reed Park Loop. Once a week, throw on your racing flats (which you must own) and go run hard and time yourself. It’s a straight 3 miles so you can really rock it! Record your times so you can see marked improvement.
    3. Shoes are essential. Love new shoes.

  4. mgmstudious says:

    This is awesome. I am totally up for the Warrior Dash and running Reid park sound awesome. Thanks Cara!

  5. Jordan says:

    That sounds like an awesome 2011 plan! I think I’m gonna start small. I’ve never been a runner and can walk long distances, but I want to try to run a 5k this year. I know it’s only a little over 2 miles, so I have to do it! =)

    • mgmstudious says:

      Jordan there a number of couch to 5k plans that are out there… being able to walk long distances would put you ahead of the curve :). Just remember to slowly increase your distance and your speed. You don’t need to sprint your first time out. Hey I’ll throw up a potential plan you could do. How many weeks until the 5k you want to do?

  6. Jordan says:

    Thanks Mike! Well, I wanted to do one April 2nd, but just got a wedding invitation for that day that is 3 hours away… So I might have to pick another one. Last time I walked/jogged 6.7 miles in about 1 hour and 35 minutes… I haven’t gone out in quite awhile though, because it is so darn cold! I just can’t do it when it gets dark at 5 and is 30 degrees outside! I did substitute in PE today, and I jumped rope all day long! That was fun, and it’s a great workout too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

