Worth Checking Out: What is the Gospel?

Posted: 01/29/2011 in Uncategorized

I have gone back to this question again, and again, and again. And needed to remind myself of the answer again, and again, and again.

You never, never, never, never, never, never, never, never outgrow your need for [the gospel]. Don’t ever think of the gospel as, “That’s the way you get saved, and then you get strong by leaving it and doing something else.”

Take a moment to listen:

What’s the gospel? I’ll put it in a sentence.

The Gospel is the news that Jesus Christ, the Righteous One, died for our sins and rose again, eternally triumphant over all his enemies, so that there is now no condemnation for those who believe, but only everlasting joy.

Comments
  1. Good post, Mike. It reminded me of the series of questions you sent me for accountability partners to go through. Shasta and I go over it every time we meet, and my favorite question asks how well we’ve been preaching the gospel to ourselves each week. The weeks when I’m in the lowest places are always the weeks when I’ve neglected the gospel. It’s so basic that I get caught up in this or that theological question, this or that meeting with so-and-so, and I inadvertently forget what God has done for me and for us all.

Leave a Reply

