Linguistic Sniper

Posted: 01/21/2011 in Personal Walk, Running the Race, Sermons/Bible Study Revelations

There are people who are able to say exactly the right thing in a matter of words. They are not only frugal with their language, but incredibly effective.  I am not one of them.

I spent six weeks of sermons trying to get across what I realized could be summed up as: “For a Christian… our everything… is all about Jesus.”

How I yearn to be able to share that simply and effectively, but I am far too good at being verbose.  Over the past couple of weeks I have been listening to other speakers to glean any sort of clue to how they do this. Within this search I stumbled upon the following clip that (in less than 3.5 minutes) ended up (more completely and accurately than any of my attempts) conveying the might, and majesty, and magnificence of Jesus.

Three and a half minutes of pin-point precision… the only thing that comes to mind is to call Dr. S.M. Lockridge a Linguistic Sniper.

Comments
  1. Jordan says:

    Thanks, Mike, for sharing that! It was awesome, and even brought a tear to my eye. It’s all so true!

    I understand what you mean about trying to describe something and finding the right words, so you over-explain and give more and more trying to make the point… I do that when I am teaching, and then I think I get the kids more confused because I am talking so much. It’s really hard to find a few words to say that will deliver the message succinctly. (By the way though, I have always liked your sermons because you DO give so much information, it helps me to see the whole picture.)

Leave a Reply

