(RE)tune – Age of Adz

Posted: 12/18/2010 in (Re)Tune

I thoroughly enjoy music.

I feel like that has the weight of saying I like chocolate chip cookies and milk, 70 ˚F weather, or vacations.

Despite the near universality of this statement, I have made a couple of realizations when it comes to my music:

  1. I have far TOO MUCH. While this might sound like heresy from a person who loves music, there is a certain point when a music library becomes untamed and unemployable.
  2. I still have all of the music that I listened to, and since, 6th grade. I’m not adamant that there should be a justified bias toward current music, but I do have to say that I have tended to embrace musical gluttony, and not all of it is very good.
  3. There are songs that I consistently skip.
  4. I scan through my plethora of music and am still unsure of what to play.

This brings me to one of the projects I am undertaking as a frequent article on this blog: (RE)tune. My goal is to go through my music, old and new, and review it and from your feedback deciding if I should keep the artist, the album, the song around.

One album that I’m completely enamored with right now is Sufjan Stevens’ Age of Adz. If you are expecting the delicate indie folk of Michigan, you might be in for a bit of a surprise. The simple clean lines of Chicago were traded in this album for a journey into electronic infused lines laced with hip-hop beats, without losing the delightful feel that is decidedly “Sufjan.” It boasts a versatility I don’t often witness with artists.

Check out the song “Too Much” from Age of Adz, it serves a great example sample, and equally seems like the appropriate commencement anthem for a project trying to tame my out-of-control music library.

Enjoy!

Comments
  1. Kurt says:

    I saw him perform it live and it was quite a treat.

  2. Christopher says:

    I love you honesty. I took your suggestion and pulled up you tube to listen to the song you recommended, then when I came here to post, saw you had embedded it for us 🙂

    Good luck on your quest to pair down your collection.

Leave a Reply

